Just 7 out of 16 top-tier teams have totally abided by club licensing requirements

Ugandan Premier League (UPL) side Uganda Profits Authority (URA) FC are desperate to protect their home stadium after the Federation of Uganda Football Associations (Fufa) refused to give them authorization to use Lugazi Stadium.

The four-time champions are among the clubs that were denied a top-tier licence by the Federation after failing to satisfy the standards set, particularly a quality home ground. The Tax Collectors had actually at first sent the Sugar Corporation of Uganda Limited Stadium which was deemed fit to host utmost the Fufa Big League.

” We submitted Lugazi stadium but Fufa has actually deemed it unfit yet we have actually done all the needed improvements as asked for,” the club’s head of communications Patrick Ochieng’ told the Sports Nation.

” We need to look elsewhere, and by next week, we will have got the service.”

In the second round of the abandoned 2019/20 season, URA utilized Luwero Stadium and Arene of Visions in Ndejje. Nevertheless, the previous has not been passed for this season following the failure to construct dressing rooms for gamers.

” The league is going to be relayed on TELEVISION, so we want arenas that fit the standards,” Fufa Stadium Evaluation Committee Chairman John Kalibbala Crizestom clarified.

” Lugazi did not meet the needed requirements since it does not have a full-fledged provided dressing room, the goalposts are not to the requirements, there is no warm-up space, and there is a [crease] in the middle of the pitch due to the fact that the stadium was recently used for cricket, to name a few [activities]”.

Initially, the Tax Collectors were utilizing Namboole Stadium however the facility is not available given that it is presently utilized as a Covid-19 medical centre.

The arenas that have actually been provided the greenlight to host top-tier matches are Lugogo Stadium, Fufa Technical Centre in Njeru, Wankulukuku, St Mary’s, Green Light in Arua, Tororo’s King George and Kabaka Kyabaggu.

Of the 16 clubs in the top-tier, only 7 have actually handled to meet the requirements set to be qualified to play in the league next season. The 7 teams are the safeguarding champions Vipers SC, KCCA FC who ended up second, Express FC, Wakiso Giants, Onduparaka FC, Cops FC and MYDA.