Perth’s Diego Castro, who won in 2015-16, and Wellington’s Mexican assaulter Ulises Davila rounded out the leading five with 23 points apiece.

Diamanti, 37, was a marquee finalizing for United and was named captain ahead of the club’s inaugural A-League season.

The charming Italian playmaker scored seven goals and supplied a further 7 helps across 25 regular-season video games, helping United to fifth on the table in their first season.

Diamanti re-signed with United for a further 2 seasons in July.

Previous Melbourne City coach Erick Mombaerts was named coach of the year after leading City to 2nd on the table and a maiden grand final.

Adelaide United playmaker Riley McGree won the young footballer of the year award after scoring 10 goals and recording 5 assists in 23 games.

McGree, 21, is anticipated to secure a 2nd relocation to Europe, having formerly had a stint at Belgian attire Club Brugge.

Sydney FC shot-stopper Andrew Redmayne was named goalkeeper of the year while Newcastle Jets seasoned Nikolai Topor-Stanley won objective of the year for his stunning strike against Perth Splendor in round 21.

The Johnny Warren Medal is based on regular-season form, with previous NSL and A-League players, the particular game’s match officials, FFA technical personnel and members of the media each ballot on a 3-2-1 basis on all 143 video games.

Those votes are tallied and independently audited, with the player( s) who accrue( s) the most votes called the winner.


* Johnny Warren Medal (Player of the Year): Alessandro Diamanti (Western United).

* Young footballer of the year: Riley McGree (Adelaide United).

* Coach of the year: Erick Mombaerts (Melbourne City).

* Golden boot: Jamie Maclaren (Melbourne City – 22 objectives).

* Goal of the year: Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Newcastle Jets, round 21 v Perth Magnificence).

* Goalkeeper of the year: Andrew Redmayne (Sydney FC).

* Y-League gamer of the year: Jake Hollman (Sydney FC).