South Island A have actually claimed the Hawke’s Bay Dewar Cup after a pace-fuelled battle on the polo pitch versus Hawke’s Bay B in the final on Sunday.

The South Island team’s four-legged speed was excessive for the Hawke’s Bay team, made up of Angus McKelvie, Woody Kururangi, Pete Hyslop and Expense Glazebrook – who lost 8-6.

Hawke’s Bay absolutely no goaler Hyslop said the video game was neck and neck right up till the 5th and last chukka.

“It was a truly close game. We were just to-ing and fro-ing up and down the field, objective for goal all the method through,” he said.

The South Island were also triumphant in the under-21 match against Central Districts, beating the North Island group 6-2.

Nevertheless, it was CD gamer Harry Bird who won the most valuable gamer of the match.

A total of 8 groups competed in the McKenzie Cup no goal competitors.

Hawke’s Bay Toyota, comprising Simon McDonald, Jared Thompson, Fred Coates and teen Herbie Coates, who won most appealing gamer of the competition, rode off Hardship Bay A to win the final 5-2.

The Nelson minus goal section was won by Kihikihi B with a persuading 5-2 win over Hawke’s Bay group Birchleigh.