Colombo [Sri Lanka], November 22 (ANI): Galle Gladiators have designated previous Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi as their captain and domestic skill Bhanuka Rajapaksa as his deputy for the upcoming Lanka Premier League (LPL).

Requiring to Twitter the franchise wrote, “#GalleGladiators name superstar @SAfridiOfficial as captain, #BhanukaRajapaksa as vice-captain.”

Afridi last included in the just recently concluded Pakistan Super League play-offs. He scalped 3 wickets and scored 12 runs in two video games for Multan Sultans.

The tournament will adopt a zero-tolerance policy against any wrongdoing, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) stated on Saturday.

Sri Lanka Cricket’s Anti-Corruption System (SLC ACU) in collaboration with the International Cricket Council’s Anti-Corruption System (ICC ACU) is administering the anti-corruption initiatives at the LPL 2020, and relevant authorities will exist and watchful at every match, occasion and, official functions throughout the competition at the place and the hotel.

The participants, (players and officials) of the league are obliged to report any corrupt approaches, as and when it occurs to the Anti-Corruption Managers (ACMs) selected for the LPL, and such reports will be handled rigorous confidentiality by the Anti-Corruption System in place.

LPL’s inaugural season will start next week regardless of star gamers consisting of Chris Gayle, Lasith Malinga and others have taken out of the tournament. In the LPL, 5 franchisee teams, called after Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla, and Jaffna will complete in 23 matches.

Colombo will take on Kandy in the opening match of LPL at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota on November 26.

Every day there will be doubleheaders till the semi-finals on December 13 and 14. The final will be played on December 16. (RECTUM).