Star gamers like Chris Gayle and Lasith Malinga have actually pulled out

Galle Gladiators have designated previous Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi as their captain and domestic skill Bhanuka Rajapaksa as his deputy for the upcoming Lanka Premier League (LPL). Taking to Twitter the franchise wrote, “#GalleGladiators name super star @SAfridiOfficial as captain, #BhanukaRajapaksa as vice-captain.” Afridi last featured in the recently concluded Pakistan Super League play-offs. He scalped three wickets and scored 12 runs in 2 video games for Multan Sultans. The tournament will adopt a zero-tolerance policy against any wrongdoing, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) stated on Saturday.

Sri Lanka Cricket’s Anti-Corruption Unit (SLC ACU) in cooperation with the International Cricket Council’s Anti-Corruption System (ICC ACU) is administering the anti-corruption initiatives at the LPL 2020, and relevant officials will exist and watchful at every match, occasion and, official functions throughout the competition at the place and the hotel.

The individuals, (players and officials) of the league are required to report any corrupt techniques, as and when it takes place to the Anti-Corruption Supervisors (ACMs) appointed for the LPL, and such reports will be handled strict privacy by the Anti-Corruption Unit in location.

LPL’s inaugural season will begin next week regardless of star players consisting of Chris Gayle, Lasith Malinga and others have actually pulled out of the tournament. In the LPL, 5 franchisee groups, called after Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla, and Jaffna will compete in 23 matches.


Colombo will handle Kandy in the opening match of LPL at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota on November 26.

Every day there will be doubleheaders till the semi-finals on December 13 and 14. The last will be used December 16.