The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame enshrinement event for Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan and Kevin Garnett and 6 others is postponed until 2021.

Hall of Popularity Board of Governors chairman Jerry Colangelo broke the news Wednesday to ESPN. The ceremony was because of be held Aug. 29 in Springfield, Mass., following a discussion the previous day in Uncasville, Conn

. The Boston Globe just recently reported that the Hall of Popularity was seeking to delay the occasions until October, however Colangelo told ESPN that holding the ceremony this year won’t be possible due to the continuous impacts of the coronavirus pandemic.

” We’re definitely canceling,” Colangelo stated. “It’s going to need to be the very first quarter of next year. (The board will) fulfill in a couple of weeks and take a look at the options of how and when and where.”

READ: NBA reminding groups players overseas can return

He informed ESPN that the Hall of Fame checked out the possibility of moving the event from Springfield’s 2,611-seat Symphony Hall to the city’s 8,319-seat MassMutual Center to offer more chance for social distancing, but eventually the choice was made to wait until next year.

Bryant died Jan. 26 at age 41 in a helicopter crash in Calabasas, Calif., that likewise declared the life of his 13-year-old child, Gianna, and 7 others.

Bryant was an 18-time NBA All-Star, five-time NBA champion and two-time NBA Finals MVP in a 20-year profession with the Los Angeles Lakers.

Duncan, 44, likewise played for simply one team, the San Antonio Spurs, in a 19-year career. He won 5 NBA titles, made 15 Dream team and was a two-time league MVP.

Garnett, 44, likewise made 15 Dream team and was Defensive Gamer of the Year in 2007-08. He played 14 seasons for the Minnesota Timberwolves, six for the Boston Celtics and 2 for the Brooklyn Internet, winning a title with Boston in 2007-08.

The other members of the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2020 are:

— Tamika Catchings, 40, the nationwide gamer of the year for Tennessee in 2000 and the WNBA MVP for the Indiana Fever in 2011.

— Eddie Sutton, who was the first coach in NCAA history to lead four schools to the NCAA Competition (Creighton, Arkansas, Kentucky and Oklahoma State). He died Saturday at age 84.

— Rudy Tomjanovich, 71, who coached the Houston Firecrackers to NBA championships in 1994 and 1995 and assisted the USA men’s team to a gold medal in the 2000 Olympics in Sydney.

— Kim Mulkey, 58, who has actually coached Baylor’s women’s team to three NCAA champions.

— Barbara Stevens, 65, one of five coaches in NCAA females’s basketball history to reach 1,000 profession wins.

— Patrick Baumann, who died in 2018 at age 51, a long time FIBA executive and a member of the International Olympic Committee.

The 2020 class will be inducted individually from the to-be-announced 2021 class, according to Colangelo.

“The class of 2020 is an extremely unique class and deserves its own event,” Colangelo told ESPN.

(For more sports protection, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website).