The wait is finally over for the passionate Dota 2 esports fans.

Organizers PGL and ONE Esports unveiled on Friday, February 5, the very first Major tournament of the Dota Pro Circuit (DPC) 2021 season.

Formally called as the ONE Esports Singapore Major presented by PGL, it will also be the very first Major tourney given that the DreamLeague Season 13: The Leipzig Major kept in January last year.

The 18 best groups across the world will fight it out for the lion’s share of the $500,000 (over P24 million) prize swimming pool and 2,700 DPC points at stake in this enormous competition that will be held from March 27 to April 4.

The top finishers in the upper division of the six DPC Regional Leagues will qualify for this Major.

3 slots are designated for the Southeast Asia area; 4 for both Europe and China; 3 for CIS; and 2 for both North and South America.

Based upon existing standings, Filipino group Neon Esports leads the DPC-SEA upper department with an ideal 3-0 record followed by Fnatic (2-1) and T1 (2-1), both of which have two Filipino gamers.

As an impressive Dota 2 event amidst the COVID-19 pandemic, the tournament will be the first-ever Significant to be transmitted in the magnificent 4K resolution at 60 fps (frames per second).

The Singapore Major was expected to be held in June last year as part of the 2019-2020 DPC season but the pandemic forced the organizers to cancel the competitors.

Two other Major tournaments, particularly the ESL One Los Angeles 2020 and the CENTER Major, were ended due to the exact same factor.

With the absence of LAN occasions, groups were obliged to compete in online regional competitions.