Djokovic offered U.S. Open supervisor no choice, says Obradovic
By Zoran Milosavljevic
BELGRADE, Sept 7 (Reuters) – Novak Djokovic should have to be disqualified from the U.S. Open when he struck a line judge with reckless though unintentional ball abuse, Serbia’s former Davis Cup coach Bogdan Obradovic told Reuters on Monday.
World number one Djokovic was disqualified while routing Spaniard Pablo Carreno Busta 6-5 in the opening set of their fourth-round tie on Sunday, striking a line judge with a petulant swipe of the ball.
The occurrence happened after Djokovic misused three set points on his opponent’s serve and then dropped his own, handing the Spaniard the effort.
” He drove through a traffic signal,” Obradovic, who supervised of a Djokovic-led Serbia team which raised the 2010 Davis Cup, told Reuters by telephone.
” I sympathize with him because he remained in great kind and on course to win his 18th Grand Slam title, however the guidelines on ball and racket abuse are clear and they apply to everyone.
” He dragged himself into the mud by making a silly mistake in unfortunate scenarios. We are all human and we all vent our disappointments often, however there is no excuse for putting somebody in harms’ way, albeit inadvertently.
” The most crucial thing is that the woman is fine and individuals saying that it wasn’t that bad must truly review that position and put themselves in her shoes.”
Serbian fans leapt to Djokovic’s defence on message boards in the after-effects of the incident, with some suggesting the line judge struck by the ball “decorated her discomfort” and reacted as if she had actually been “hit by a soccer ball.”
Obradovic’s peer Radmilo Armenulic, who coached the former Yugoslavia Davis Cup group in the 1980s and 1990s, informed Reuters he was surprised with the choice though he acknowledged Djokovic also had himself to blame.
” To be sincere, I was hoping for more lax penalty because Djokovic conserved this year’s U.S. Open by going into the tournament amidst the coronavirus pandemic,” he stated.
“( Rafa) Nadal took out and (Roger) Federer is recuperating from knee surgical treatment so they truly required him there. However it’s as if they couldn’t wait to expel him.
” Then once again, he offered them trigger with a negligent response. Really regrettable, but he will recover from this and proceed because he is psychologically strong.” (Writing by Zoran Milosavljevic; Editing by Christian Radnedge).