The star power of the players who consist of the very first two Euroleague All-Decade Teams is impressive. Both groups, one covering from 2000 to 2010 and the more recent group representing 2010 to 2020, were voted on by fans and media – and they really selected the best of the finest.

Among all the renowned names, there are players whose skills resulted in them to gather many post-season awards, but every single one of these honorees played an important function with championship groups. All of the gamers were EuroLeague champs; 17 of them have actually won several crowns; and, together, they integrate for 38 EuroLeague titles throughout the years they represent. The 2000-2010 team leads the way with 21 titles, while the 2010-20 team is close behind with 17. It might be kept in mind that both Dejan Bodiroga and Anthony Parker won continental titles in non-Euroleague Basketball competitions, not counted here, early in the 2000s. The very same goes for Vassilis Spanoulis, who owns an extra EuroLeague title in the years before he was granted this honor.

An overall of 14 various players have actually been voted EuroLeague MVPs considering that the award was introduced in 2004, and all however 4 of them are represented on these All-Decade groups. Just Parker has actually been the MVP more than when, having taken home the prize the very first two seasons it was awarded. While the 2010-20 team had more MVPs, with six, members of the 2000-10 team took all five MVP awards that were given up that decade.

The 2000-10 group stands out for more Final 4 MVPs and EuroLeague Finest Protector Trophies, too. Amongst its 7 Last Four MVPs was Bodiroga, who won it in 2002 with Panathinaikos Athens and in 2003 with FC Barcelona. Dimitris Diamantidis was a Final 4 MVP for Panathinaikos in both years, 2007 and 2011. He and Juan Carlos Navarro of FC Barcelona were the only 2 players on both All-Decade teams. Spanoulis, a three-time Final Four MVP, is only credited here with the 2 such prizes that he won with Olympiacos Piraeus in the 2010s, but not the one that included Panathinaikos in 2009.

Diamantidis singlehandedly made sure that the 2000-10 group would have more Finest Defender Trophies due to the fact that he was awarded all 5 considered that decade. He also took another one for the 2010-20 team, which likewise had two-time Finest Defender awardee Kyle Hines. The 2010-20 team included 3 gamers with awards that nobody on the first All-Decade group achieved: Nando De Colo, the only Alphonso Ford Top Scorer, which he earned in 2016 with CSKA Moscow; and two-time Rising Star Prize winners Bogdan Bogdanovic (Partizan Belgrade in 2014, Fenerbahce Istanbul in 2015) and Luka Doncic (Real Madrid, 2017 and 2018).

Many of the players on both teams played for a handful of clubs. CSKA Moscow had an overall of 7 players between the 2 groups and Olympiacos 6. CSKA’s four choices from the first All-Decade group played a combined overall of 22 seasons in Moscow from 2000 to 2010. Olympiacos had 4 gamers fit up for 25 seasons in the 2010-20 years.

Only once did 4 gamers who became All-Decade choices take the court together. That took place on CSKA’s 2007-08 title team, with J.R. Holden, Trajan Langdon, Theo Papaloukas and Ramunas Siskauskas. A year later on, Olympiacos had 4 All-Decade gamers in Papaloukas, Nikola Vujcic, Spanoulis and Georgios Printezis. The first two were All-Decade picks for the 2000s and the second set was honored on the 2010-20 group.

Besides CSKA in 2008, seven more teams won the EuroLeague with three All-Decade selections: Barcelona in 2003 (Bodiroga, Jasikevicius, Navarro), Maccabi in 2004 and 2005 (Jasikevicius, Parker, Vujcic), CSKA in 2006 (Holden, Langdon, Papaloukas), Olympiacos in 2012 and 2013 (Hines, Printezis, Spanoulis) and CSKA in 2016 (De Colo, Hines, Milos Teodosic). The only groups to win the EuroLeague without a single All-Decade selection were Virtus Bologna in 2001 and Maccabi in 2014.